Periphery – Periphery II: This Time it’s Personal

Periphery II: This Time it’s Personal Album Art

2012. Sumerian Records (USA) / Century Media Records (EUR)

Periphery is a band that really got my attention a few years ago with that particular sound that unleashed the discussion about Djent as another genre or just as another leg of Prog-Metal. I’m just an adherent to the idea of Djent as a sound or maybe the natural evolution inside de whole Prog-Sound world. Beyond any discussion, these guys brought fresh air to the music and passed the test of fire with their first album. Now they come with a new release called Periphery II: This Time it’s personal, and we will see if it lives up to its name…

First track, Muramasa it’s a kind of intro that immediately shows that this time something it’s gonna be different. In addition to the expected modern sound, some symphonic waves and mid-tempos are present, and the vocals are disposed to do anything that takes to blow your head.
Have a Blast it’s the perfect tittle for what comes next. A fresh track plagued of power and a wide variety of different elements that makes it so dynamic. Contretemps and math elements are populating wherever your ears try to reach. I can’t avoid saying that the guitars commanded by Misha and solo by guitar virtuoso Guthrie Govan achieve a great job.

Third track is the strong Facepalm Mute, and as you may suspect by the tittle it’s all power in here, until a cool chorus where Sotelo takes his voice to the limits (By the way, this song was composed by him). Another remarkable point is that here that the band sounds so tight even when this time there are more layers of sounds on the tracks. Special mention to Matt Halpern who did an awesome work on drums.

Ji comes just to smash your head with that brutal sound that reminds Meshuggah on its first part contrasted by the arrival of more melodic elements for some passages to finally return to the face-kicking- sound. Great song to be played alive.
Scarlet was already known, it’s really sticky song with a marked melodic line that makes it a perfect single. Even when the math elements are still there, the vocals takes over and lead the song from start until the end with a really easy-to-digest structure. Great song.
Luck as a Constant it’s a great song, result of a perfect mixture between the most pure progressive metal essence and the extreme metal approach to this, reducing the eternal discussion about Djent sound in just one song. Amazing.

Ragnarok brings the extreme side back with a dark sound and a math/mad game through six and a half minutes that can make your head explode with an incredible ease. Towards the end once again Sotelo shows an incredible vocal range that surprises.
The Gods Must Be Crazy is another song marked by the ¨melodic¨side leaded by Sotelo’s voice, but don’t let yourself be fooled because the song also has great a dark section and an awesome progressive mid-passage backing a short but inspired guitar solo.

The single Make Total Destroy is another highlight for the album, made by a perfect mixture between the math elements and a power and sticky chorus where vocals once again make an awesome job, definitely is great song.
Erised brings a torn in the sound of the band, with a light sensation and more atmospheric sounds that surround your head and aloud the bass to take the reins of the song. Palm mute this time stays behind giving prominence to the rhythm section and a very inspired guitar solo with that unmistakable registered seal of the great John Petrucci. Surprising song in a good way.

Epoch is the first breath that the band lets you take, but then arrives Froggin’ Bullfish to remind you that this time is personal. With this track the band once again plays with your head reaching the senses of madness through an interesting structure leaded by Misha on guitars and a solo handled by Wes Hauch (The Faceless)
Mile Zero is another highlight for this album. It has a bit of everything periphery is in perfect doses, especially if we talk about their previous works. Melodies, heavy riffs, math rhythms, extreme vocals, modern sounds, etc, everything is in here.

On the same line the final track, Masamune, takes back some resources of their previous album on a start to after becoming step by step on this new beast that achieves to get open from everything else. Great song to close this second effort of the band.

So is this time personal for Periphery? That’s for sure, and they are responsible to prove it through an album almost without breaths that is able to take your head to lift it and drop it, smash your face and surprise you when you least expected it. This band is coming straight forward to conquer everything they want and probably won’t find sufficient resistance to impede it. Great band, great work.

  1. Muramasa
  2. Have A Blast
  3. Facepalm Mute
  4. Ji
  5. Scarlet
  6. Luck As A Constant
  7. Ragnarok
  8. The Gods Must Be Crazy!
  9. Make Total Distroy
  10. Erised
  11. Epoch
  12. Froggin' Bullfish
  13. Mile Zero
  14. Masamune